Fall Semester 2018 Information
Fall Semester 2018 Registration is open. Students are encouraged to register for classes as soon as possible---course sections do fill up quickly! The first day of classes is August 27, 2018. Please see the Fall Semester Academic Calendar for more fall semester dates.
Returning students should check their online services account to ensure they are ready to register.
All students should direct their registration questions to 979-532-6303 or email at email@example.com.
Academic advising is available in person and online. Check the advising page for information.
Online registration is available almost 24 hours per day. For “how to” instructions, click the following link:
Information regarding payment deadlines for the fall semester is available on the Payment Deadlines page.
Students who need assistance with any aspect of admission, registration, academic advising or financial aid are strongly encouraged to attend an Enrollment Night Event.
Repeated Courses and Tuition Charges
Wharton County Junior College will charge a higher tuition rate to Texas resident students registering for a course for the third or subsequent time. This charge will apply to any course that the student has already attempted twice and appears on their transcript. Upon the third or subsequent enrollment, the out of state tuition rate will be charged for those credits hours. This charge will be assessed upon third enrollments in attempted (courses in which a student withdrew and received a “W”) and completed courses (courses in which a student received a letter grade). Student tuition represents only a portion of the total cost of instruction. The remaining comes from state dollars that are paid by Texas taxpayers. When students enroll for courses for a third time, the state of Texas does not offer funding to the college to pay for operation of that student’s enrollment. The Texas state legislature allows colleges to charge tuition at a higher rate to offset the loss of funding.
Exemptions to the Repeated Courses
The following types of credit hours are exempt and are not subject to the Repeated Courses Tuition Charges Policy;
- credit hours for remedial and development courses, if the course work is within the 27-hour limit
- credit hours for courses that involve different or more advanced content each time they are taken, including but not limited to, individual music lessons, theater practicum, music performance, ensembles, certain physical education and kinesiology courses, and studio art;
- credit hours for independent study courses; and
- credit hours for continuing education courses that must be repeated to retain professional certification.
- credit hours repeated in the final semester or term before graduation, if the credit hours are taken for the purpose of receiving a grade that will satisfy a degree requirement. (This exemption applies for only one semester or term)
- High School/Dual Credit classes.
Students who believe that they should be receiving an exemption from the higher tuition rate should, after registering for the course that they were charged a higher tuition rate proceed to the admissions/registration office and request an appeal form. Students have seven (7) days from the start of a course to appeal the higher tuition rate. Students will be asked to (a) complete an appeal form identifying the reason that they believe they should be exempt from the higher tuition rate, (b) provide a statement to support the identified reason and (c) provide supporting documents to support their claim and then submit these to admissions office for processing. Appeals for exemption will be processed by the admissions staff whenever possible. Appeals for exemption that are processed by the admissions staff will be immediately returned to the student who will then take the processed and approved exemption form to the business office for reversal of higher tuition charges. Appeals for exemption requiring additional information or research will be processed by the Director of Admissions and Registration or Registrar as soon as possible. Students will be notified in such instances via WCJC e-mail regarding the outcome of the appeal for exemption. If the appeal for exemption is granted the student is responsible for taking the processed and approved appeal form to the business office.
Students who attempt to claim an exemption from the higher tuition rate but are denied an initial appeal for exemption have the option to appeal. In order to appeal a student must within five (5) business days of being denied an exemption present in writing a statement outlining the reasons they believe they should be granted an exemption. The student must supply any documentation at the time of their written appeal. The appeal should be sent to the Vice-President of Student Services. Within five (5) business days of receiving the appeal the Vice-President will respond in writing to the student’s appeal statement.