Frequently Asked Questions

Is financial aid available?
YES, to qualified students and veterans.  WCJC Financial Aid Office:  1-800-561-9252 x6345

When is the Basic Peace Officer course offered?
Day Classes - An academy is offered in both the Fall and Spring semesters.  Classes are held at the Wharton campus, 8:00am-5:00pm Monday thru Friday w/occasional Saturdays.  Classes are completed in the 17-week semester.  Evening Classes - An academy is offered each Fall semester.  Classes are held at the Richmond campus, 6:00pm-10:00pm Monday thru Friday w/occasional Saturdays.  Classes are completed in two 17-week semesters, totalling 34 weeks. 

How much of the Academy can I miss?  
NONE. You are expected to attend all sessions of the academy, but are allowed a given number of absences and tardies.

Will this course certify me as a police officer in Texas?
YES.  The Academy is the first step. The second step is the licensing exam (TCOLE).  After passing the licensing exam, you are eligible to be employed as a Texas peace officer.

Are there jobs available?
YES.  It may take several months to go through an application process for police agencies. The Academy does host recruiting sessions for numerous area law enforcement agencies.  Some agencies will allow academy trainees to participate in their application process prior to graduation; with potential employment contingent upon passing the State licensing examination.

What kind of gun will I need?
NONE. The Police Academy will supply all weapons and ammunition needed for training.

What additional supplies will I need for class?
Students will be provided a list of required supplies to include: uniforms, duty gear, and note-taking materials.  (See academy packet for details and equipment list)

How can I pay for classes?
You may pay with cash, credit card, check or money order.  You may also sign up for installment plans with the WCJC Business office.

When do I pay for classes?
Tuition/fees must be paid at time of registration.

Do you have an age limit?
You must be 21 years of age prior to graduation from the academy.

Will we have any time off from school?
YES.  The academy class follows the college holiday schedule.  Students will receive a class calendar on the first day of the academy.

Where can I get more Information?
You may contact the Police Academy office, 1-800-561-9252 x6575.  You may also contact the Vocational Science Division Secretary, 1-800-561-9252 x6554.

Last Updated