Frequently Asked Questions
- 1. Enrolling at WCJC
- 2. WCJC Online Services
- 3. Business Office - Tuition & Fees
- 4. Financial Aid
- 5. THEA Test
- 6. Students with Disabilities
- 7. Housing
- 8. Parking
- 9. Continuing Education
- 10. Distance Education
Information Request Form
1. Enrolling at WCJC
1.1 How do I apply?
Application for Admission Form. If you were a WCJC
student in the past, but it has been more than a year
since you were enrolled, you need to update your information
by submitting a new application.
You may submit your application online at
Applytexas.org or print a paper form at
Application for Admission Form. If you choose
the online version, after clicking on
Applytexas.org, follow these steps to get started:
Click here to ENTER APPLYTEXAS
- ) If you do not already have an ApplyTexas account, please
create one now
- ) fill out the information and click on “Save Profile”,
- ) continue to fill out the application according to the on-screen directions.
If you have not attended another
college or university, request that your high school send us a
If you have attended another college
or university, request a transcript be sent to us from each
college or university attended.
Submit ASSET or THEA scores or proof of Texas Success Initiative
A new state law now requires first time in college students receive a
bacterial meningitis vaccination. To learn more about required
documentation, exemptions, and how to decline the vaccination
1.2 Do I need an appointment to register for classes?
An appointment is not necessary. You can register online at
www.wcjc.edu or in person at the Registrar’s Office at the
Wharton Campus, Sugar Land Campus, or Fort Bend Technical Center at Richmond.
1.3 When is the last day to register for classes?
You may register through the third day of classes during the
fall and spring semesters and the first day of classes during
the summer sessions. A $25 late registration fee is charged
once classes have begun.
1.4 Can I change my schedule?
Yes, through the third class day during the fall and spring
semesters and the first day of classes during the summer
sessions. Beginning the first day of classes a $15.00 schedule
change fee is charged.
1.5 Can a counselor register me for classes?
When you visit a counselor, they will assist you
with online (web) registration.
1.6 What if I’m unable to register in person?
Once you have satisfied the admissions
requirements, you can register for classes online at
Click the Online Services link on the college
Click WCJC Student Online Services.
enter Secure Area in the menu that appears to begin the
registration process. Your logon ID is your social security
number without dashes or spaces. Your password is your
birth date in the format MMDDYY. After you have logged on,
you can change your password.
1.7 Do I need to take the SAT or ACT?
No, we require the ASSET or THEA; however, you could be THEA-exempt
with sufficiently high ACT, SAT, or TAKS scores.
**NOTE: EDUCATION MAJORS ARE NOT THEA
1.8 Can I take classes during the same semester at any WCJC campus?
Yes, you may take classes in Sugar Land, Wharton, Fort Bend
Technical Center, and other locations during the same semester
if you choose.
1.9 How do I find out when the next THEA or ASSET test will be given?
You may go to
to see testing dates and registration
information for THEA. Contact our Wharton Testing Center at
979-532-6386 or 6457, our Sugar Land Testing Center at
281-243-8434 or 8503, or our Fort Bend Tech Center at
281-239-1532, for ASSET testing dates. (ASSET is for WCJC
students only). You may visit our website at
www.wcjc.edu to see all our
testing schedules. Click on Student Services, click on testing
services, and then click on testing schedule for the campus
schedule of your choice.
1.10 Do you have a new student orientation?
Yes, we offer an orientation for new students on each campus
before classes begin in August. Contact Student Services at
979-532-6388 for more information.
1.11 If I am a high school dual or concurrent student, do I have to send
in another application after I graduate from high school?
No, unless your address or other significant information has changed. But,
we do need an up-to-date transcript.
1.12 Which students are considered “in-district” for tuition purposes?
An adult who is a Texas resident and has resided continuously
within the WCJC Taxing District (Wharton County and Needville
ISD) for six months prior to his original registration, or if a
minor, one whose parent(s) or legal guardian meet this
1.13 Do you have student housing?
Yes, on our Wharton campus. We have Brooking Hall and Mullins
Hall for women and Frankie Hall for men.
1.14 What sports are offered at WCJC?
We have a women’s volleyball team and a men’s baseball team. In
addition, we have a rodeo team for both men and women.
1.15 How do I get a WCJC catalog or class schedule?
Both are available on this web site or you may call our catalog
line at 979-532-6516. Please leave your name and mailing address
and state what you would like us to mail to you.
return to the top
3. Business Office - Tuition & Fees
3.1 Can I pay my tuition and fees on an installment plan?
Yes, installment plans are available using the Online Services link
www.wcjc.edu on the college home page. See
How to do an installment plan on the Web.
3.2 How often are payments due on the installment plan?
Important Plan Information.
3.3 If I cannot come to the school to set up and installment plan,
can my parent or someone else take care of it for me?
The student must complete the installment plan online using the Online
www.wcjc.edu on the college home page. Once completed,
the student can set up authorized users to make payments for
3.4 Can I pay my tuition and fees by credit card?
Yes, you may pay with a MC, Visa, Discover, or American Express. You
may pay online or at any campus business office. You can
also pay by web check.
3.5 What happens if I register, but do not pay for my classes?
You must drop those classes. Prior to the first class day you
may drop classes online or in person at the Registrar’s
Offices at any of the WCJC campuses. After classes begin,
the online option is no longer available, so you must go in
person to a WCJC campus. If you cannot come in person, print
a Drop Form from our website, fill it out, and fax it to
979-532-6494. Unpaid bills are turned over to a collection
agency. It is best to take care of these things before that
3.6 Can I use my PELL grant to pay for books?
Yes. Bookstore credit is available at each campus bookstore for all scholarship and financial aid students, and will be deducted from your student account balance after tuition and fees are paid.
3.7 How can I determine if I pay in-district tuition/fees or out-of-district tuition/fee
Residents living in Wharton County or Needville ISD pay
taxes to the college. As a result, a student
living in Wharton County or Needville ISD pays in-district
rates. All other Texas residents pay out-of-district rates.
return to the top
4. Financial Aid
4.1 What are my chances of receiving financial aid?
The only way to determine your eligibility for financial aid is to
submit a Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). The
likelihood of receiving some form of financial assistance is
probably better than most students and their families anticipate.
4.2 What is the deadline to apply for financial aid?
To receive maximum consideration for aid, the FAFSA must
be processed by the Department of Education and received by Wharton
County Junior College along with all other documents that might be needed
by June 1st for the following academic year.
4.3 Is there a maximum income level that will disqualify me
from receiving financial aid?
Most people have the misconception that income is the only factor in
determining need for financial aid assistance. However, other
variables are considered such as: family size, number of family members in
college, age of older parent, savings, investments, and various other
allowances to the family’s income and assets.
4.4 In order to receive financial aid do I have to apply every year?
Yes. In order to receive consideration for eligible programs
you must file Free Application for Federal Student Aid
(FAFSA) each year. File the FAFSA as close to January as
possible. For speedy processing you can apply over
the Internet at:
http://www.fafsa.ed.gov instead of using the paper form.
4.5 If my parents are divorced, which parent do I put on the FAFSA?
You should provide information from the parent that provided
you with the most support in the past year. If the parent
who provided you with the most support has remarried, your
step-parent’s information must also be provided on the FAFSA.
4.6 Will the financial aid transfer from one school to another?
No. Financial aid does not transfer from school to school.
Students planning to transfer to another school should contact the
Financial Aid Office at both schools to find out what is required.
4.7 What is verification? And why was I chosen?
Verification is a process by which the college reviews the
student and parental information reported on the Free Application for
Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). Students are selected for
verification randomly by the federal processor. Selection for
verification does not imply that you have made an error
or made false statements. If you are selected for
verification you will be notified.
4.8 For financial aid purposes, how do I determine whether I am an independent or dependent student?
To be considered an independent student for financial aid purposes, you must
be able to answer “yes” to one of the following questions. If you
cannot answer “yes” to one of the following questions, you are considered a
- Were you born before January 1, 1983?
- At the beginning of the 2006-2007 school year, will you be
working on a master’s or doctorate program (such as an MA, MBA, MS,
MD, JD, PhD, EdD or graduate certificate, etc.)?
- As of today, are you married? (Answer “yes” if you are
separated but not divorced.)
- Do you have children who receive more than half of their support
- Do you have dependents (other than your children or spouse) who
receive more than half of their support from you, now and through June
- Are (a) both of your parents deceased, or (b) are you (or were
you until age 18) a ward/dependent of the court?
- Are you a veteran of the U.S. Armed Forces?
4.9 Are there other forms that I can fill out in order to be considered for other grants?
The FAFSA is required to be considered for all grant programs available through
processing by the financial aid department. We also require
the Student Data Form from all students who
wish to be considered for aid. You may print the form by
choosing the Forms link on the WCJC website,
or you may pick one up from the financial aid office.
4.10 Why can’t I apply for financial aid without using my parent’s
information on the FAFSA form?
When you apply for federal student aid, there are certain questions
you answer that will determine whether you are considered
dependent on your parents or independent. If you are
considered dependent, you must report your parent’s income
and assets as well as your own. If you think you have
unusual circumstances that would make you independent, talk
to your Financial Aid Director.
4.11 How do I know when and how much I have been awarded?
of all eligible programs will be provided to you in the form
of an award letter listing the types of aid you can expect
to receive for the school year. You may also view your
awards by accessing the WCJC website and click on on-line
4.12 What happens if I drop a class?
If you drop a class prior to the 12th class day, you may be
responsible for repayment of the difference between the
amount of money you received and the amount specified for
the new enrollment status. You must also make sure you
remain in compliance with out Satisfactory Academic Progress
4.13 What if I withdraw from all classes?
If you withdraw completely or drop below ½ time status, you may be
responsible for repaying money received from financial
assistance. You will be academically ineligible for
financial aid. If you have a student loan, your grace
period will begin, and if you fail to enroll within 6
months, the repayment will begin on your student loans.
4.14 Why is the maximum amount of loan money limited?
Students applying for the Federal Stafford Loan are subject to annual
and aggregate loan limits that are based on the academic
level, dependency status, and length of academic program.
The Federal Family Education Loan Program (FFELP) presets
the loan limits. WCJC has no control over the funding
4.15 Do I need to be admitted before I can apply for Financial Aid?
No. You can apply for financial aid any time after January 1. To
actually receive funds, however, you must be admitted and
enrolled at the college.
return to the top
5. THEA Test
5.1 What do I have to do to take the THEA?
You can pick up a THEA Registration Bulletin from your local
high school counseling or college counseling/testing center.
You must fill out the packet, enclose a $29.00 check, money
order, or credit card number and mail it off approximately
one month prior to test day. These exams are given six times
a year on Saturdays at 8:00 a.m.
5.2 Once I take the THEA, how long does it take to get my scores?
The Saturday test scores arrive in approximately 4 weeks.
5.3 What do I do if I haven’t taken the THEA and I want to register that day?
The ASSET test is given four times per month during the
summer session and two times per month during the fall and
spring semester at all three campuses. It is a much shorter
version of the THEA. You will get 3 of your 4 scores that
day; however, your essay will not come in for approximately
1 ½ to 2 weeks. We urge you to take the THEA ahead of time
as the ASSET exam moves quickly. You have 25 minutes per
section and you must submit an essay (1 hour and 15 minutes)
like you do on the THEA. Once again, please take the THEA if
at all possible. The ASSET costs $29.00. You need to have a
completed application for admission to WCJC on file prior to
taking the ASSET.
You must take at least one course with WCJC for your ASSET
scores to transfer.
5.4 Who has to take the THEA or ASSET?
Virtually all new students who desire to enter a public
university (and are taking courses that are seeking a
degree) are required to take the THEA.
You can be exempt from taking the THEA if you have high ACT, SAT, or
TAKS scores. Please furnish those scores along with your
application for admission to WCJC, and the Registrar’s
Office will interpret your scores. If you are exempt from THEA, it will
state that you are exempt on your
permit-to-register when you sign up for classes, and you
will receive a letter from the Registrar’s Office stating
whether or not you need to take the THEA.
return to the top
6. Students with Disabilities
6.1 What kind of services does WCJC provide for students with disabilities'?
With proper documentation of the disability WCJC can offer the
following accommodations: registration assistance, extended test
time, distraction free testing, taped text, interpreters,
note-taking help, and others specific to the disability.
6.2 What documentation is needed to obtain accommodations?
Documentation should be current within the last three years and
from a professional: a medical doctor for a physical or health
disability, a school diagnostician for learning disabilities,
6.3 I was exempt from TAKS in public school because of my
disability. Do I have to take THEA to get into college?
Yes. Everyone has to take an entrance test for college.
Accommodations are available for this testing.
6.4 Whom do I contact to find out about accommodations for my disability?
The ADA Coordinator for WCJC can be reached at the following
number. 1-800-561-9252 ext. 6384, or you may consult any
counselor on the campus you attend and they will assist you in
contacting the ADA Coordinator
return to the top
7.1 What are the dorm fees?
A dorm room is $600 for Brooking Hall and $700 for Frankie Hall and Mullins Hall.
The board (meal) plan is
$1250 per semester. All
dormitory students are required to take the board plan.
7.2 When are the dorm fees due?
Room charges and the first board plan payment are due and
payable at the time of registration and must be paid before
moving into the dorm.
7.3 Is there an installment plan for the board?
Yes, the board may be paid in three payments:
- 50% to be paid before move in (dorm room & first board
- 25% due Oct. 1 (fall) or Feb. 1 (spring)
- 25% due Nov. 1 (fall) or Mar. 1 (spring)
Students who are on the installment plan are charged $35.00.
7.4 What is included in the meal plan??
Three meals are served Monday through Friday, two meals on
Saturday, and one meal on Sunday, except for holidays.
7.5 How do I apply for a dorm room?
A dorm application is available online, in the college
catalog, or from the Student Services Office at the Wharton
Campus (979-532-6388). A $200 deposit is required to reserve
a room and to cover possible property damages.
7.6 What if I wish to cancel my dorm reservation??
Students may request a refund of their room deposits and/or pre-paid room rent if they decide not to attend Wharton County Junior College. To cancel the residence hall reservation and contract, the student must submit a request in writing to the Office of Student Services 15 calendar days before the first day of classes. Failure to do so will result in the forfeiture of the deposit.
7.7 Can I request a roommate?
Dormitory room assignments are made according to the date
the deposit is received. All efforts are made to accommodate
student requests for dorm and/or roommate preference.
7.8 Can I stay in the dorm over the holidays?
The residence halls and cafeteria will be closed during
official college holidays as specified in the College Class
Schedule. During these holidays, students must make other
arrangements for housing and meals.
return to the top
8.1 Where do I get a parking permit?
Parking permits are available during registration at each
campus. If you did not get a permit at the time of registration,
you may pick up a permit at the Pioneer Student Center on the
main campus, or at the Business Office at the Fort Bend
Technical Center and the Sugar Land campuses. You must have a
parking permit no later than the first week of classes.
Warnings will be given for violations of parking regulations
only during the first week of classes.
8.2 What information do I need to get a permit?
A student’s name and social security number or ID number, as
well as the year, make, model, color and license plate number of
the vehicle are required to get a parking permit.
8.3 Where do I display the permit?
The parking permit must be displayed from the rearview mirror in
accordance with college instructions. No exceptions.
8.4 What if I drive a different car than the one I registered?
The permit is designed so that it may be removed from one
vehicle and attached to a different vehicle easily. The permit
is issued to a WCJC student, not to a vehicle, so no matter
which vehicle a student drives, the WCJC parking permit must be
displayed from the rearview mirror.
8.5 Where may I park on campus?
Students may park only between the white lines at each campus.
Parking and traffic regulations are set forth in detail in the
8.6 Is there a fine for parking tickets?
Yes, each parking citation is $25.00. Fines should be paid at
the Business Office on the campus where the citation was issued,
or mailed to the address on the citation. Holds will be placed
on the records of students with parking fines.
8.7 Can I appeal a parking citation?
Yes. Students may pick up a copy of College Regulation 325 and
an appeal form from the Office of Student Services at the
Wharton campus, or from the receptionist at the Fort Bend Tech
Center or Sugar Land campus. Appeals are made through the
Summary Appeals Court. The decision of the Summary Appeals Court
is final. Note: Failure to display a parking permit will not
constitute a reason for dismissal.
return to the top
9. Continuing Education
9.1 What courses does Continuing Education offer?
Aerobics, Alcohol Awareness, Aviation Training, Business
Management, Casino Games, Computer Aided Drafting, Computer
Software Training, Creative Writing and Publishing,
Defensive Driving, Emergency Medical Services, English as a
Second Language, Home & Garden, Professional Development,
Real Estate, Sign Language, Spanish, and Test Preparation
A complete CE schedule of course offerings can be viewed on
the college website at www.wcjc.edu.
9.2 Is there an application fee for Continuing Education
There is no application fee for continuing education
9.3 Are there different fees for out of district students
and in district students?
No – each class has a fee that the same for all students who
9.4 Can students use web registration for CE Courses?
Yes, if you have completed the Continuing Ed admissions
process in person or by fax before registering.
9.5 Do Continuing Education courses show up on student’s
Yes – all coursework completed at WCJC is displayed.
9.6 If students would like to register in person, where
can he/she do so?
A student can register in person for any CE course at any
9.7 Does Continuing Education offer certificates at the
end of class?
Yes, Continuing Education awards Certificates of
Participation for students who complete a course.
9.8 Does Continuing Education offer “field specific”
continuing education for those needing to acquire CEU’s?
Yes – consult the CE schedule on the college website at
www.wcjc.edu or contact the Continuing Ed office at (979)
9.9 When is payment due for Continuing Education courses?
All fees are due at the time of registration.
return to the top
10. Distance Education
10.1 What classes are offered from WCJC Distance Education?
Video Cassette, Online (Web CT), and Interactive Television
10.2 When taking an online course, how often will students
report to actual classroom?
It varies, that is the decision of the instructors.
10.3 How can Distance Education Instructors be contacted?
Call the Division Secretary of the department under which
the course is taught.
10.4 Is orientation mandatory for videocassette courses?
Yes. Videotapes for the course are handed out at
10.5 Are credits achieved through WCJC Distance Education
You should contact the college you plan to attend to verify
that a specific course can be transferred.
10.6 Can students obtain WCJC degrees solely through online
courses through WCJC Distance Learning?
No, not at this time – consult the current catalog for
return to the top
If you have further questions, please fill out and submit the following form online: